Are Any Of You Seniors in High School?

Hejira

The Fame Popster 305

I’m asking because college applications are due soon for a lot of colleges and it’s just crazy. :katy: I joined a server on discord about college admissions and everyone’s aiming for Ivy Leagues or “elite” schools just for the prestige. I just feel left out because I never felt the need to create a non-profit or build a robot during high school. Such a need to go to prestigious schools is just a foreign concept to me.

Edited by Hejira
  • hugs 3

Popster to Popster 4,583

I'm almost 30 so probably not exactly what you were looking for but it makes me so sad to see that sh!t is still going on.  I was an honors/AP student and so were most of my friends and the amount of peer pressure and pressure from family, teachers and counselors to go to a "big name" school was so toxic.  I only stayed at one of those schools for a year but it absolutely destroyed me with student loans.  I ended up going to a much smaller, less known school after and had a much better education with more opportunities 🤷‍♂️ If I had stayed there for the prestige (and hadn't had my loans forgiven), I don't know how I would've been able to afford rent and necessities with the loan payments and I make good money in tech.

Long and short of it: just because a school has a better reputation doesn't mean it will have a better education and it really makes me mad the way the whole thing is framed.

Edited by NotDoctor
  • paws up 3

The Fame Popster 305
1 hour ago, Twitter said:

Even though I am DONE with school. 100% understand what you are going through because I been there. Originally, I had a passion to do business and law. So I wanted to attend Princeton or Havard just to prove I went to a great school. When the reality is most those kids who attend Ivy League schools party too much, grades slip, get expelled, or is paying a LOT of money back in student loans.